Rosalie Krajci, an oblate of Mount Saviour Benedictine Monastery in Elmira, NY, sent us the following poem. It is reproduced here with her permission.

By way of explanation to those whose Latin may be rusty: Ora et Labora is a Benedictine motto meaning “Pray and Work”. Rosalie plays with the Latin in her title: Orare est Laborare: “To Pray Is to Work”.

Orare est Laborare

I Will Go to the Altar . . .

I will go to the altar of God,

To God who gives joy to my youth!

I will go to the altar of my laptop

As I compose this prayer.

I will go to the altar of my phone,

As I call or respond to a friend.

I will go to the altar of my piano

Where I touch the soul of Beethoven.

I will go to the altar of the sidewalk

That leads me to my neighbor.

I will go to the altar in my kitchen,

As I prepare what God provides.

I will go to the altar of my appliances

That make light work of many chores.

I will go to the altar of my books

That bring food to my spirit.

I will go to the altar in my prayer corner

Where I find the grace to surrender and

To love.

Rosalie Krajci